Key takeaways
- Best UGREEN hubs and docks for Steam Deck and ROG Ally: 10 listings sorted by HDMI, 100W PD passthrough, Ethernet and USB ports, plus a power budget.
The best UGREEN dock for a Steam Deck or ROG Ally is a compact hub that states HDMI 4K at 60Hz, 100W power delivery and USB-A data ports in its title, with Gigabit Ethernet as the optional extra. Of the ten listings here, the Revodok 6-in-1 with Ethernet and the Revodok Pro 9-in-1 both name Steam Deck, and the Revodok Pro 6-in-1 with 10Gbps names Rog Ally, which makes those three the safest starting points. The big multi-monitor docks are designed for laptops on a desk, and they work as a stand-style dock only if you accept the extra cost and bulk.
A handheld asks less of a dock than a laptop does. It needs one video output for a TV or monitor, a way to charge while docked, and a couple of USB ports for a controller, keyboard or a wireless dongle. Everything beyond that is nice to have. The sections below keep that short list in view and say plainly where a listing is aimed at a different user.
Picks at a glance
| Listing (short name) | Key point from the title | Price tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revodok Pro 6-in-1, 10Gbps | 4K 60Hz HDMI, 100W PD, names Rog Ally | Mid | ROG Ally owners wanting a small hub |
| 5-in-1 hub | 4K HDMI, 100W PD, 3 USB-A | Budget | Basic TV docking, no Ethernet |
| Revodok 6-in-1 with Ethernet | Gigabit Ethernet, 4K HDMI, 100W PD, names Steam Deck | Budget to mid | Steam Deck on a wired connection |
| Revodok 7-in-1 | 4K HDMI, 100W PD, USB-C and 2 USB-A at 5Gbps, SD/TF | Mid | Storage-card users |
| Revodok Pro 9-in-1 | Gigabit Ethernet, 4K 60Hz HDMI, SD/TF, names Steam Deck | Mid | All-in-one desk setup |
| 10-in-1 dual monitor dock | 2 HDMI, 1G Ethernet, 5Gbps ports, aluminum | Premium | Laptop and handheld on one desk |
| 7-in-1 aluminum dual monitor dock | 2 HDMI, 4 ports at 10Gbps | Mid to premium | Fast external SSD plus two screens |
| 12-in-1 triple monitor dock | 2 HDMI plus DisplayPort, macOS mirrors only | Premium | Desk workstations, not handhelds |
| 9-in-1 DisplayLink dock | Driver required, 2 HDMI, 2 DP | Premium | Windows or Mac laptop users |
| 8-in-1 Thunderbolt 4 dock | 40Gbps, 85W, 8K single display | Premium | Thunderbolt laptops |
How these were picked
The basis is the listing titles, published USB-C and display standards, and common patterns in what buyers write about docks. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. That means no claims about heat, fan noise, fit in a case or real transfer speeds. Anything not in a title says “check the listing”.
One honest caveat: most titles here are written for MacBooks, ThinkPads and similar laptops. Only three mention a handheld. The rest are included because they are the same family of hubs and docks and some will work, but handheld support is something you should confirm.
What is changing for handheld docking
Handheld PCs and Valve’s Steam Deck have turned the USB-C port into a small desktop connector. A single cable now has to carry video, power and data, and the quality of the dock decides whether all three behave. Newer hubs advertise 10Gbps data lanes and 100W power delivery because laptop makers pushed those figures, and handhelds inherit them.
That has two consequences. First, a hub written for a MacBook is usually built on the same chipset family as one written for a handheld, so the technical gap is smaller than the marketing gap. Second, a title that names a handheld is still a seller claim, not a certification, so it is a signal to check the listing and not a guarantee. Treat the three handheld-named listings as the shortlist and the rest as options that need a quick compatibility read.
The ten listings
Revodok Pro 6-in-1, 10Gbps, 4K 60Hz HDMI, 100W PD
This is the one listing that names Rog Ally. It is a six-port hub with a 10Gbps data path, 4K 60Hz HDMI and 100W PD charging, and it is the right size to sit beside a handheld. The 10Gbps wording points to a faster USB lane than the 5Gbps hubs, which helps with external SSDs.
The port mix is not spelled out in the title, so check how many USB-A and USB-C ports it has and whether any SD slot is included. For a small desk or a travel bag, it is the most targeted option here.
Pros
- Names a handheld in the title.
- 10Gbps data wording.
Cons
- No Ethernet mentioned.
- Exact port list is not in the title.
A practical way to judge it is by what you plug in. A single wireless controller dongle and a charger are covered by almost any six-port layout, but a keyboard, a mouse and a drive are not, so count your devices before you count the ports. Also ask yourself whether you will be moving big files, since that is where the faster lane would pay off.
Ask before buying: does the port list include the USB-A count you need for a controller dongle?
UGREEN 5-in-1 USB-C Hub, 4K HDMI, 100W PD, 3 USB-A
The simplest listing in the set: HDMI at 4K, 100W PD charging and three USB-A ports. No handheld is named, and there is no Ethernet or card reader. For the job of putting a handheld on a TV with a controller dongle and a keyboard, that is enough.
It is also the likeliest to be the easiest to carry. The title does not give a refresh rate for the 4K output, so check whether it is 30Hz or 60Hz. A gamer will want 60Hz.
Pros
- Three USB-A ports.
- Small and low in the tier list.
Cons
- 4K refresh rate not stated.
- No Ethernet or card slot.
It also tends to be the hub people buy as a second unit, one for the TV and one for the travel bag, because the price tier is low and the footprint is small. That makes it the hedge if you are unsure what you need. The cost of a mistake is small, and a more complete hub can replace it later.
Ask before buying: is the HDMI output 60Hz, or only 30Hz?
Revodok 6-in-1 with Gigabit Ethernet, 4K HDMI, 100W PD
This listing names Steam Deck and adds Gigabit Ethernet, which is the main reason to prefer it over the plain hub. A wired connection gives steadier downloads and cloud play than a far-off Wi-Fi signal.
It also lists USB-A data ports and 100W PD. The title does not state the refresh rate of the HDMI, so confirm 4K at 60Hz. It is the budget-friendly pick for a living-room Steam Deck.
Pros
- Steam Deck named.
- Gigabit Ethernet.
Cons
- Number and speed of USB-A ports not in the title.
- No card reader stated.
A sensible check is where the cable would run. If the router sits across the room, the cable may end up on the floor, and a fiddly run is a reason people give up on Ethernet. In that case the cheaper 5-in-1 hub may be the better match.
Ask before buying: is your router close enough to use an Ethernet cable?
Revodok 7-in-1 with SD/TF Reader and 5Gbps Ports
This one is written for laptops, with MacBook and XPS in the title, but it has what a handheld owner might want: 4K HDMI, 100W PD, a USB-C and two USB-A ports at 5Gbps, and an SD or TF reader. The reader is handy for moving screenshots or game files, though microSD in a handheld is usually a separate matter.
There is no Ethernet. If you want both a card slot and wired internet, you will need to look at the Pro 9-in-1.
Pros
- SD/TF reader.
- USB-C data port in addition to USB-A.
Cons
- No handheld named.
- No Ethernet.
The card reader’s real value is for people who also carry a camera or a drone, since the handheld’s own card slot is a separate matter and the reader on a hub does not expand the handheld’s storage.
Ask before buying: do you really move files from cards, or will USB sticks do?
Revodok Pro 9-in-1, Ethernet, 4K 60Hz HDMI, SD/TF
The most complete hub for a handheld on paper. It names Steam Deck, states 4K at 60Hz, 100W PD, Gigabit Ethernet, USB-A data ports and an SD/TF reader. It is a single-display product, so it does not add a second screen.
It will cost more than the simpler hubs, and the cable and body are bigger than the 5-in-1. If a dock that stays on a desk is acceptable, this is the closest to a stand-style dock without going to the multi-monitor class.
Pros
- Steam Deck named plus 4K 60Hz.
- Ethernet and card reader together.
Cons
- Bulkier than the budget hubs.
- USB-A speed not stated.
Busy hubs with many ports can run warm in a closed bag, which is a general trait of the category, not a finding about this unit. Leave it uncovered while docked and unplug it before you pack up.
Ask before buying: do you need the extra ports often enough to justify the size?
10-in-1 USB-C Docking Station, Dual Monitor, Revodok Pro Aluminum
Aimed at Dell, HP and Lenovo laptops, this dock has two HDMI outputs for dual 4K at 60Hz, 5Gbps USB-C and USB-A ports, 100W PD, 1G Ethernet and an SD/TF 3.0 reader. It is a lot of dock for a handheld.
Handhelds usually output one video stream over USB-C, so the second HDMI sits idle unless a laptop shares the desk. If you have both a laptop and a handheld, this is the one you leave plugged in and swap cables on.
Pros
- Plenty of ports.
- Aluminum body for a desk.
Cons
- Dual-monitor ability is wasted on a handheld.
- Larger than needed.
If the dock will only ever see a handheld, the second HDMI port is dead weight and the money is better spent on a Pro hub with Ethernet. The aluminum body does give the dock some mass on a desk, so it is less likely to be dragged around by a cable.
Ask before buying: does the dock ever see a laptop, or only a handheld?
7-in-1 Aluminum Dock, Dual Monitor, 4 Ports at 10Gbps
This listing has two HDMI outputs and four USB-A and USB-C data ports at 10Gbps, plus 100W PD. There is no Ethernet or card reader in the title. Four 10Gbps ports suit external SSDs and a capture card.
For a handheld it is the high-bandwidth, low-extras choice. It is a laptop dock first and does not name a handheld.
Pros
- Four 10Gbps data ports.
- Two displays for laptops.
Cons
- No Ethernet or card slot.
- No handheld mentioned.
Four 10Gbps ports are a clear advantage for an external SSD that holds a game library, since load times and copies depend on the link. For a controller dongle and a keyboard, the speed is irrelevant. Check which of the four ports are USB-C and which are USB-A before assuming they suit your drive.
Ask before buying: do you need 10Gbps ports, or would 5Gbps be enough?
12-in-1 Triple Monitor Dock, Revodok Pro 3121, macOS Mirrors Only
The title includes two HDMI plus a DisplayPort, two 10Gbps USB-C ports, two USB-A, 100W PD, SD/TF 3.0, Ethernet and 3.5mm audio. The words “macOS mirrors only” mean a Mac gets one mirrored image across extra screens, not extended desktops.
This is a workstation dock. For a handheld it is overkill, and it is the least relevant listing in the group. Mention it because it appears in a search for UGREEN docks.
Pros
- Wide port mix including audio.
- Triple-display output for laptops.
Cons
- Not designed for handhelds.
- macOS limitation spelled out in the title.
The macOS note is worth taking seriously, since it means extra monitors show the same picture on a Mac. A Windows laptop may treat the outputs differently, and a handheld uses at most one stream. It earns its place only on a large desk.
Ask before buying: is there a laptop that needs three displays?
9-in-1 DisplayLink Dock, Dual 4K 60Hz, Driver Required
The title says driver required, which means the video outputs depend on DisplayLink software. That works on Windows and macOS laptops, and support on a handheld operating system is something to check separately. It offers 2 HDMI, 2 DisplayPort, 10Gbps USB-C and USB-A, 100W PD and Gigabit Ethernet.
For a handheld, a driver-dependent dock adds a variable. If you need plain HDMI out, a hub that does not require a driver is easier.
Pros
- Many display outputs.
- Ethernet and 10Gbps ports.
Cons
- Driver required.
- Not named for any handheld.
DisplayLink works by compressing the picture and sending it over USB, which is why a driver is needed. That also means it is a poor fit for a game, where latency and CPU load matter more than they do in an office. Standard DisplayPort docks avoid that cost.
Ask before buying: is a driver available for your handheld’s operating system?
8-in-1 Thunderbolt 4 Dock, 40Gbps, 85W, Revodok Max 208
This is the Thunderbolt 4 dock, with 3 TBT4 ports, 40Gbps, dual 4K 60Hz or a single 8K display, 85W charging, Gigabit Ethernet and three 10Gbps USB-A ports. It is written for Mac M-series laptops.
A handheld’s USB-C port is not generally a Thunderbolt port, so the 40Gbps headroom is likely unused. At 85W it still has plenty for either handheld. Treat it as a laptop dock that happens to be compatible with ordinary USB-C devices, subject to listing confirmation.
Pros
- Thunderbolt headroom and 3 USB-A ports.
- Ethernet.
Cons
- Highest tier and largest, not matched to a handheld.
- 85W is lower than the 100W hubs, though still above a handheld’s need.
If a Thunderbolt laptop shares the desk, this dock can serve both, with the handheld using one of the ordinary USB-C or USB-A ports. If not, the Thunderbolt price premium is wasted, and a Pro 9-in-1 hub is likely better value.
Ask before buying: do you own a Thunderbolt laptop that justifies it?
How to choose a dock for a handheld
HDMI output and refresh rate
Most handhelds send video through the USB-C port using DisplayPort. A hub converts that to HDMI. A TV needs 4K at 60Hz for a smooth image, though a handheld’s GPU is more likely to run games at 1080p or 1440p and let the TV upscale. Look for a title that states 60Hz.
Passthrough wattage
The charger plugs into the hub, and the hub passes power to the handheld. The handheld pulls what its own charger profile allows. A hub rated at 100W has headroom for a 45W or 65W handheld charger, but the hub keeps a small share for itself.
| Concept | What to look for | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| HDMI version and refresh | 4K 60Hz in the title | Smooth desktop and TV output |
| PD input rating | 100W or 85W | Must cover handheld charger plus hub overhead |
| USB-A count | 3 or more for dongles | Controller, keyboard, mouse |
| Ethernet | Gigabit stated | Stable downloads and streaming |
| Card reader | SD/TF 3.0 | File transfer, not a replacement for handheld storage |
| Driver need | “Driver Required” in title | Adds software dependence |
Stand-style docks versus hubs
A hub travels with the handheld. A dock stays on a desk and handles several displays. The UGREEN listings split cleanly: the 5-in-1, 6-in-1, 7-in-1 and 9-in-1 are hubs, while the 10-in-1, 7-in-1 aluminum, 12-in-1, DisplayLink and Thunderbolt units are docks. None of the titles states a cradle shape that holds a handheld upright, so check images for stand-style fit.
Case fit
A protective case can block a bulky USB-C connector. Compact hubs with a short cable are friendlier than plug-in dongles. The listings do not say which cases they clear, so measure the gap or take the case off.
A quick decision flow before you buy
Work through these questions in order and stop at the first one that settles it.
- Do you want only a TV or monitor output plus charging? Choose the 5-in-1 hub and skip everything else.
- Do you download large games or stream from a PC? Add Gigabit Ethernet and move to the Revodok 6-in-1 or the Revodok Pro 9-in-1.
- Do you move files with an external SSD? Prefer the Revodok Pro 6-in-1 with 10Gbps or one of the 10Gbps-port docks.
- Do you also own a laptop that needs two screens? Look at the 10-in-1 or the 7-in-1 aluminum dock, then decide whether the handheld is the secondary user.
- Does the listing say driver required, Thunderbolt or macOS mirrors only? Pause. Those labels point to a laptop product, so confirm the handheld case separately.
Which listing for which setup
| Setup | Look at | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Steam Deck on a living-room TV, wired | Revodok 6-in-1 with Ethernet | Names Steam Deck and has Gigabit Ethernet |
| ROG Ally with an external SSD | Revodok Pro 6-in-1, 10Gbps | Names Rog Ally and 10Gbps wording |
| One desk with a handheld, card reader and cable | Revodok Pro 9-in-1 | Most complete single-screen hub |
| Minimalist travel kit | 5-in-1 hub | Fewest parts, three USB-A |
| Laptop plus handheld on one desk | 10-in-1 or 7-in-1 aluminum dock | Dual displays for the laptop |
| Thunderbolt laptop owner | 8-in-1 Thunderbolt 4 dock | Matches the laptop, not the handheld |
A worked example: port and power budget
Assume a handheld docked to a TV with a 45W charger, a wireless controller dongle, a keyboard dongle and a wired network cable. The handheld draws up to 45W, the dongles together draw a few watts, and Ethernet uses the hub’s controller. A hub rated at 100W covers that with a large margin even after the hub takes its share. Now add an external SSD: the drive draws power from a USB-A port and shares the hub’s data lane with other USB devices. If the hub only offers 5Gbps total, a game drive and a downloading file can slow each other.
| Item | Assumed load | Where it lands |
|---|---|---|
| Handheld charging | 45W (assumed charger) | Hub PD input must cover it |
| Two USB dongles | About 1W each | USB-A ports |
| External SSD | About 4 to 5W (assumed) | USB-A or USB-C data port |
| Ethernet | Gigabit, about 125MB/s ceiling | Shares the hub’s uplink |
| Total electrical budget | About 52W | Well under 100W |
These figures are assumptions for illustration, not published specs. Swap in your own charger and drive.
Mistakes buyers make
| Mistake | Fix |
|---|---|
| Assuming every laptop dock works with a handheld | Prefer listings that name Steam Deck or Rog Ally |
| Buying a DisplayLink dock for plain HDMI out | Choose a non-driver hub |
| Expecting the full 100W at the handheld | Remember the handheld pulls its own profile and the hub takes a share |
| Paying for Thunderbolt | Handheld ports are generally not Thunderbolt |
| Ignoring refresh rate | Look for 60Hz in the title |
| Forgetting the case | Check connector reach or remove the case |
Verdict by use case
For a Steam Deck, start with the Revodok 6-in-1 with Ethernet or the Revodok Pro 9-in-1. For a ROG Ally, start with the Revodok Pro 6-in-1 with 10Gbps. Choose the 5-in-1 hub for the lightest kit. The dual-monitor, triple-monitor, DisplayLink and Thunderbolt docks are laptop products, and they only make sense if you share the desk with one.
Related guides
- How To Extend Battery Life On A Handheld Gaming Pc
- Gen4 Nvme M2 Ssds For High Performance Pc
- Portable Monitor For Nintendo Switch 2
Frequently asked questions
Can a UGREEN USB-C hub dock a Steam Deck or ROG Ally?
Hubs with HDMI and power delivery can usually work with a handheld that outputs video over its USB-C port, which both of these devices do. Only three listings here name Steam Deck or Rog Ally in the title, so for the rest you are relying on general USB-C behavior. Check the listing for handheld support, then plug in and see whether the screen, charging and USB devices all appear.
Does 100W PD mean my handheld charges at 100W?
No. The number is the most the hub can pass through, and the handheld pulls only what its own charger profile allows. Steam Deck is commonly paired with a 45W charger and ROG Ally with a 65W one, so a 100W-rated hub has headroom. Some of the input is used by the hub itself, so the figure left for the handheld is lower than the label.
Is a DisplayLink dock a good idea for a handheld?
Usually not as a first choice. The DisplayLink listing says a driver is required, and handheld operating systems may not offer the same driver support as a Windows or macOS laptop. If you want plain HDMI out, a standard hub that uses DisplayPort over USB-C avoids the driver question. Read the listing and the vendor’s driver notes before buying for a handheld.
Do I need a dock with Ethernet for gaming?
Not required, but a wired link can help with game downloads and streaming from a PC, where wireless signal is uneven. Four listings here state Gigabit Ethernet. Gigabit is about 125MB/s in theory, and real downloads are lower. If your router is in the same room as the TV, a cable is worth considering, otherwise Wi-Fi may be enough.
Will a hub fit while the handheld wears a case?
It depends on the case and on the hub’s plug design. Several listings are compact hubs with a short cable, which sit beside the handheld, while the bigger docks stay on the desk. If your case covers the bottom USB-C port, check that the connector can still reach it, or take the case off while docked. The listings do not state case clearance.