Key takeaways
- Nine UGREEN Nexode power banks compared for Steam Deck, ROG Ally and Legion Go: wattage, Wh capacity, airline limits and a play-time worked example.
For a Steam Deck, ROG Ally or Legion Go, the best UGREEN pick is usually the one that gives you a 45W or higher USB-C output on a single port and a Wh figure you can carry through airport security. On titles alone, that points at the 20000mAh 67W model for handheld-only kits and the 25000mAh 145W models if the bank also charges a laptop. The two longer sections below explain the numbers and show a play-time example with stated assumptions.
Picks at a glance
| Model (from title) | Capacity | Top output | Ports and cable | Price tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nexode 20000mAh 67W | 20000mAh, 72Wh | 67W | Built-in USB-C cable | Budget to mid |
| Nexode 20000mAh 145W | 20000mAh, 72Wh | 145W | Built-in USB-C cable | Mid |
| 25,000mAh 145W, Pack of 2 | 25,000mAh each | 145W | 3-port USB-C, names Steam Deck | Premium (two units) |
| Nexode 20000mAh 165W | 20000mAh | 165W | Built-in cable, 3-port, 100W input recharge | Mid to premium |
| Nexode 25000mAh 165W | 25000mAh, 90Wh | 165W | 2 built-in USB-C cables | Premium |
| Nexode Pro 25000mAh 200W | 25000mAh, 90Wh | 200W | Retractable cables, TFT display, PD 3.1 | Premium |
| Nexode 25000mAh 200W TFT | 25000mAh, 90Wh | 200W | 3-port, TFT display, PD 3.1 | Premium |
| Nexode 25000mAh 145W 3-port | 25000mAh | 145W | 3 USB-C ports, names Steam Deck | Mid to premium |
| Nexode 20000mAh 45W | 20000mAh | 45W | Built-in cable, digital display, 3-port | Budget |
How the list was built
The basis is published specifications, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Handheld claims come only from titles that name Steam Deck, and anything about battery life or draw is a labeled estimate with assumptions. Laptop-class banks are included because the title wording is the same Nexode family; they are overkill for a handheld-only bag and the article says so.
The nine power banks
UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh 67W with built-in USB-C cable
The leanest handheld-class pick. The title gives 20000mAh, 72Wh and a built-in USB-C cable, plus 67W fast charging for MacBook, iPad and phone. On a handheld that wants roughly 45W, 67W leaves headroom, and the built-in cable means one less thing to forget. The title says compact, but check the listing for dimensions and weight if bag space is tight.
It suits a one-handheld traveler who also carries a phone or tablet. The built-in cable cannot be swapped if it frays, so confirm the cable length on the listing and keep a spare USB-C cable in the kit.
Scenario with assumptions: a 50Wh handheld drained to empty on a flight, and a 72Wh bank at roughly 70 percent efficiency. That is about 50Wh of usable energy, which is close to one full refill. A question to ask before buying: do I want the lightest sensible bank for a single handheld, or do I expect to add a laptop later? If a laptop is likely, the higher-wattage listings are worth the extra bulk.
- Pros: 67W is enough for handheld-class charging; 72Wh sits under common airline limits; built-in cable
- Cons: cable is attached, not removable; fewer ports and headroom than the 145W models
UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh 145W with built-in USB-C cable
Same 20000mAh and 72Wh figures as the 67W sibling, but with 145W on the label. For a handheld alone you will not use 145W, though it matters if a laptop shares the bank. The title lists MacBook, iPad, Samsung and Dell compatibility, which signals a laptop-charging design rather than a handheld one.
A question to ask before buying: will I actually ever pull more than 67W? If not, the cheaper listing is the sensible choice. If a thin laptop and a handheld both live in the same bag, this is the smaller way to cover both.
The capacity is identical to the 67W listing, so the extra wattage is the only difference in the titles. That makes this a decision about charging two heavy devices at once, not about getting more play time. Check the listing for the per-port split when two devices are connected, because the 145W figure is a total rather than a promise for each port.
- Pros: 145W headroom for laptop plus handheld; built-in cable; 72Wh
- Cons: overkill for handheld-only use; same capacity as the cheaper 67W model
UGREEN Power Bank 25,000mAh 145W, 3-port, Pack of 2
This listing is a two-pack, which changes how you read it. The title names Steam Deck and the same 25,000mAh, 145W, 3-port Nexode wording as the single unit further down. Two banks means one for the bag and one for a partner or the desk. Because it is a pack of two, never compare its price directly with a single-unit listing.
Check the listing for whether the pack includes cables, and for the Wh figure of each unit, which the title does not state. For airline rules, each bank counts as its own battery.
Scenario: two players on a trip, each with a handheld, sharing the cost of one listing. A question to ask before buying: do I want two identical banks, or one bank plus a separate cable kit? Because the title states no Wh figure, use the 25,000mAh label and the earlier conversion to estimate roughly 90Wh each, then confirm on the listing before flying.
- Pros: two banks for the price of one listing; names Steam Deck; 145W three-port
- Cons: no Wh stated in the title; two units to charge and carry; pack pricing needs a per-unit check
UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh 165W with built-in USB-C cable
A 20000mAh bank with 165W on the label, a built-in USB-C cable and a stated 100W input for recharging. The 100W input matters: a bank that refills quickly gets back into rotation overnight or during a coffee stop. It is described as 3-port, so a handheld, a phone and a tablet can charge together.
The title does not state a Wh figure for this one, so use the mAh value with the conversion later in this article, and check the listing before flying. It is a laptop-first bank that happens to charge handhelds well.
Scenario: a laptop and a handheld in one bag, with the bank recharged overnight from a 100W source. The faster input helps if you have only a few hours at a hotel desk. A question to ask before buying: does my wall charger actually supply 100W on one port? If not, the fast recharge claim will not show up on your desk.
- Pros: fast 100W recharge claim; built-in cable; three ports
- Cons: Wh not stated; 165W is more than a handheld uses; sharing across ports may reduce each port’s output
UGREEN Nexode 25000mAh 165W with two built-in USB-C cables
The title gives 25000mAh, 90Wh and two built-in USB-C cables, with 165W total on the label. Two attached cables is a convenience for a handheld plus a phone without carrying anything extra. At 90Wh it is still under a 100Wh airline line, but check your carrier.
It is a bag-anchor choice for a long trip: one bank, enough capacity for multiple handheld recharges, two cables built in. The cost is weight, which the title does not state, so check the listing.
Scenario: a long trip with a handheld, a phone and a tablet, where one bank has to cover three days without a wall socket. With 90Wh and the 70 percent assumption, about 63Wh is usable, which is a bit more than one full refill of a 50Wh handheld plus a phone top-up. A question to ask before buying: is the weight acceptable for a daily carry?
- Pros: 90Wh; two built-in cables; 165W headroom
- Cons: heavier than the 20000mAh banks; built-in cables cannot be replaced; price tier is high
UGREEN Nexode Pro 25000mAh 200W with retractable cables
The most featured bank on the list. The title lists retractable built-in cables, a TFT display, PD 3.1, 90Wh and a 100W-times-three line for charging. The display is helpful for handheld use because you can see the output wattage and remaining capacity without guessing.
The retractable design keeps cables off the desk, which is handy for a travel bag. As with every built-in-cable model, cable wear is the long-term question. Check the listing for the cable length, and for whether a regular USB-C port is available for a spare lead.
Scenario: a desk or train table where you want to see the live wattage while the handheld charges and the laptop draws from a second port. The display answers the question that every gaming-while-charging setup raises, namely whether the game draws more than the bank supplies. A question to ask before buying: how much do I value the display and retractable cables compared with a plainer 145W bank?
- Pros: display; retractable cables; 90Wh; 200W class
- Cons: premium tier; more bank than a handheld needs; cable wear risk
UGREEN Nexode 25000mAh 200W PD 3.1 TFT 3-port
A 200W-class sibling of the Pro model with a TFT display, PD 3.1 and 90Wh, but described as 3-port rather than with retractable cables. If the Pro’s built-in cable mechanism does not matter to you, this is the version that gives you the same display and capacity with regular ports.
The title lists laptop and phone compatibility rather than handhelds. The display is the feature that matters for gaming, because charging a handheld while playing leaves you wondering whether the bank is actually delivering what the game draws.
Compared with the Pro model, the titles suggest the same capacity and display class but a different cable design. Choose this one if you already carry good USB-C cables and want the display without moving parts. A question to ask before buying: do my cables carry the wattage I need? Check the cable ratings before assuming the 200W class will ever be reached.
- Pros: TFT display; 90Wh; three ports with your own cables
- Cons: overkill for handheld-only kits; you supply the cable; premium tier
UGREEN Nexode 25000mAh 145W 3-port USB-C
This title names Steam Deck and offers three USB-C ports at 145W. It is the single-unit sibling of the two-pack: same capacity and port wording, so the difference is whether you want one bank or two. The title does not state a Wh figure or a display, so it is the plainer of the 25000mAh models.
It suits a handheld-plus-laptop traveler who prefers regular ports and their own cables. Because all three ports are USB-C, you do not need A-to-C adapters for older cables, but check which cables you actually own.
Scenario: a Steam Deck user who also carries a 65W laptop charger-class load. A 145W three-port bank covers either alone, and the combination if the split works out, which the listing should explain. A question to ask before buying: will I use all three ports at once? If not, a single-port output rating matters more to you than the total.
- Pros: names Steam Deck; three USB-C ports; 25000mAh
- Cons: Wh not stated; no display mentioned; near-duplicate of the pack of 2
UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh 45W with built-in cable and digital display
The lightest-output model, and honestly the closest match to what a Steam Deck charger supplies. The title gives 45W, a built-in USB-C cable, a digital display and 3-port charging. For a handheld-only bag, 45W is the line that matters: it should match the handheld’s own charger without carrying laptop-class hardware.
Gaming while charging from a 45W bank may drain slowly under heavy loads on handhelds with higher peak draw. Check your handheld’s charger rating and pair this with a short cable if the margin is thin.
Scenario: a Steam Deck or ROG Ally on a commute, topped up between sessions. At 45W, charging while a demanding game runs may only slow the drain, so plan on pausing the game for a faster refill. A question to ask before buying: is my handheld’s bundled charger above 45W? If so, this bank will charge it more slowly than the wall adapter.
- Pros: 45W matches typical handheld chargers; display; built-in cable
- Cons: no Wh figure in the title; no headroom for a laptop; shared output across three ports can lower each port
Which bank for which handheld bag
| Your kit | Output to look for | Matching listing |
|---|---|---|
| Handheld only, weekend trips | 45W to 67W | 20000mAh 45W or 67W |
| Handheld plus phone | 67W, 2 or more ports | 20000mAh 67W |
| Handheld plus thin laptop | 100W or more on one port | 145W or 165W banks |
| Long trip with display on the bank | 200W class with TFT | Nexode 200W models |
| Two travelers, two handhelds | Two banks | Pack of 2 listing |
How to choose a power bank for a handheld
| Spec concept | What to look for | Why it matters for a handheld |
|---|---|---|
| Single-port output | At least your handheld charger’s rating | Sets how fast it charges, and whether play drains it |
| Wh figure | 72Wh or 90Wh in the title | Decides airline rules and recharges per trip |
| Built-in or removable cable | Built-in for convenience, ports for flexibility | A frayed fixed cable cannot be swapped |
| Display | Digital or TFT in the title | Shows live wattage while you play |
| Input recharge speed | 100W input on one 165W model | Gets the bank ready again overnight |
Output, not just capacity
A handheld charges over USB-C Power Delivery. Check the maximum single-port output, not the all-port total. The headline wattage on a multi-port bank is shared, so charging two things at once can lower each port’s output. A 145W label does not mean 145W per port.
Wh, mAh and what you actually get
Capacity labels such as 20000mAh are measured at the cell voltage, while the watt-hour figure is the number airlines care about. A rough conversion uses about 3.7V per cell: 20000mAh is about 74Wh and 25000mAh about 92Wh, which lines up with the 72Wh and 90Wh figures in the titles. Delivered energy is lower after conversion losses; 70 percent is a reasonable conservative assumption.
| Assumption | Value used |
|---|---|
| Handheld battery size | 50Wh (check your device) |
| Draw while gaming | 25W average (varies by game) |
| Bank efficiency | 70 percent |
| Bank sizes | 72Wh and 90Wh |
Worked example: how many hours can a bank add?
With the assumptions above, a 72Wh bank delivers about 50Wh of usable energy (72 times 0.70). A 90Wh bank delivers about 63Wh. If the handheld draws 25W while gaming, 50Wh gives about 2 hours of play, and 63Wh about 2.5 hours, if the bank powers the game directly. A full recharge of the 50Wh handheld battery also takes about 50Wh, so the 72Wh bank gives roughly one full recharge and the 90Wh bank about 1.25. These are estimates, not measurements; heavy games will draw more, and light games less.
Airline rules
Airlines commonly set a 100Wh per-battery limit for carry-on without special approval, and power banks usually must travel in the cabin. The 72Wh and 90Wh titles are under that line; units without a stated Wh figure should be checked on the listing. Rules differ by country, so check your carrier.
Gaming while charging
There are three outcomes. If the bank supplies more than the game draws, the battery rises. If it supplies about the same, the percentage stays flat. If it supplies less, the battery still drains, only more slowly. Many handhelds also limit charging speed while performance modes are on. Dim the screen, cap the frame rate or pause in menus when you want a faster top-up, and keep the cable short.
A quick decision flow
Step one: write down your handheld’s charger wattage. Step two: if you carry only the handheld and a phone, shortlist banks with 45W to 67W on one port. Step three: if a laptop joins the bag, shortlist 145W and up and check the per-port split. Step four: if you fly, make sure the Wh figure is under 100Wh and visible on the listing. Step five: choose built-in cables for convenience or three ports for flexibility.
Near-duplicates to know about
Two listings share almost the same wording: the 25,000mAh 145W three-port pack of 2 and the single 25000mAh 145W three-port bank. The real difference is the quantity. The 20000mAh 67W and 145W listings also share capacity, so the extra wattage is the only change in the titles.
Cable matters
A USB-C cable rated below the bank’s output limits the delivery. For handheld charging, a short cable rated for the wattage you need avoids voltage drop. Built-in cables solve the problem but cannot be replaced.
Mistakes buyers make
| Mistake | What goes wrong | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Buying 200W for a handheld alone | More weight and cost than needed | Pick 45W to 67W for handheld-only kits |
| Reading the total wattage as per-port | Slower charge when sharing ports | Check the single-port rating |
| Comparing a pack of 2 with a single unit | Misleading price comparison | Compare per unit |
| Ignoring the Wh figure | Surprise at airport screening | Check Wh on the listing |
| Using a weak cable | Slow charge or no charge | Use a cable rated for the wattage |
Related guides
- How To Extend Battery Life On A Handheld Gaming Pc
- Gen4 Nvme M2 Ssds For High Performance Pc
- Portable Monitor For Nintendo Switch 2
Frequently asked questions
How many watts does a Steam Deck or ROG Ally power bank need?
Handhelds generally charge from a USB-C PD source in the tens of watts, and the bundled chargers are in that range, so a 45W bank is the practical floor. Anything higher mostly helps when you are also charging a laptop or tablet from the same bank. Confirm your own handheld’s charger rating in its documentation, then pick a bank whose single-port output meets or beats it.
Can I play while the handheld charges from a power bank?
Yes, if the bank can deliver at least what the game draws plus a margin. Demanding games can pull more than a low-wattage source supplies, in which case the battery drains slowly or stays flat instead of rising. A bank that matches the handheld’s own charger rating gives the most predictable behavior, and a short, quality USB-C cable keeps voltage drop down.
Are these power banks allowed on a plane?
Airlines commonly set a per-battery limit of 100Wh for carry-on without special approval, and power banks usually must travel in the cabin rather than checked luggage. The 72Wh and 90Wh figures in these titles are under that line, but rules differ by airline and country, so check your carrier’s policy before you fly. Carry-on only, and keep the label readable.
Is 20000mAh or 25000mAh better for a handheld?
The labels are cell-level numbers, so compare the watt-hour figure instead. The titles give 72Wh for the 20000mAh models and 90Wh for the 25000mAh ones. For a handheld with a battery around 40 to 50Wh, either size gives more than one full recharge after conversion losses, and the choice is mostly about weight against the number of extra devices you carry.
Do I need a 200W bank for a handheld?
No. A handheld alone does not need 200W. The higher-wattage banks make sense if the same bank also charges a laptop, or runs several devices at once. For a handheld-only kit, a 45W to 67W bank is closer to what the device can accept and usually lighter in the bag.